Colorado Avalanche Logo and Header
16-17 Season TicketsSign up for Avs AlertAvalanche on FacebookAvalanche on TwitterAvalanche on Google+Follow Us on TumblrAvalanche on Foursquare
  • RSS

Burgundy/White Game Set For Sunday

Intra-squad scrimmage will start at noon at Cadet Ice Arena at USAFA

Saturday, 09.14.2013 / 4:13 PM MT / News
By Scott Ward
Share with your Friends

Burgundy\/White Game Set For Sunday

The Avalanche wrapped up the training phase of its 2013 preseason camp Saturday and now turns its attention toward a fan favorite: the Burgundy/White Game.

Sunday’s contest is set for a noon puck drop at Cadet Ice Arena, on the grounds of the United State’s Air Force Academy, and will be the 13th playing of Colorado’s intra-squad game and the fifth time it’s been held at the Academy, which hosted the event in consecutive seasons from 2007 to 2009 and then again in 2011.

The Burgundy/White game has also been held in Denver (Magness Arena) and Colorado Springs (World Arena).

Reserved seating is sold out for the scrimmage, but standing-room only tickets are still available for $12 and can be purchased at

“I think Air Force always does a good job,” Avs forward Paul Stastny said. “It’s a little higher in elevation, so it might be a little more tiring, but it’s a fun building. It’s a good, little college building where [the fans] almost sit on top of you, and it’s really loud in there. It’s always been a good, competitive game, so we’re excited for that."

The game will feature all Avalanche players competing in a three-period scrimmage with a shootout scheduled at the end of regulation, regardless of the score. The first 15 minutes will be held under running time, while the final 45 minutes will have stoppages of play and power plays, instead of the penalty shot breakaways featured the last three days at training camp in Centennial, Colo.

Team Burgundy will feature, among others, Colorado captain Gabriel Landeskog, veteran Avalanche player Alex Tanguay, back with the franchise after a three-year hiatus, Paul Stastny and defenseman Jan Hejda, and Nathan MacKinnon and Chris Bigras, Colorado's first two selections in this year's NHL Draft.

Goalie Semyon Varlamov will start in goal for Burgundy, while Sami Aittokallio and Kieran Millan will back him up.

Team White will be anchored by, among others, forwards Matt Duchene, Ryan O'Reilly and PA Parenteau and defensemen Tyson Barrie, Cory Sarich, Ryan Wilson and Andre Benoit.

In goal for White will be Jean-Sebastien Giguere. He'll be backed up by Kent Patterson and Calvin Pickard.

For what it’s worth, Team Burgundy holds an 8-4 record in the series, which began with a 4-3 Burgundy shootout win in 1998.

Proceeds from Sunday’s game will be used by Kroenke Sports Charities to support non-profit groups, including military organizations.

1998: Burgundy 4, White 3 (SO)
1999: Burgundy 4, White 0
2000: Burgundy 3, White 1
2002: White 4, Burgundy 3
2003: Burgundy 6, White 3
2005: Burgundy 3, White 2
2006: Burgundy 4, White 3
2007: Burgundy 7, White 5
2008: White 9, Burgundy 0
2009: White 3, Burgundy 2 (SO)
2010: Burgundy 3, White 2
2011: White 4, Burgundy 3

42: Team Burgundy's point total in 12 Burgundy/White games. Team White has scored 39 points.

9: The number of goals Team White scored in a 2008 shutout win.

7: The number of Burgundy/White Games decided by one goal.

2.25: Average goal differential in the series history.

2: Number of shootout wins (2009, 1998).

2015-16 Ram Trucks Ice Girls
Avs Alert
. is the official Web site of the Colorado Avalanche. Colorado Avalanche and are trademarks of Colorado Avalanche, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Colorado Avalanche Hockey Team, Inc. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. NHL Stadium Series name and logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League.