Colorado Avalanche Logo and Header
16-17 Season TicketsSign up for Avs AlertAvalanche on FacebookAvalanche on TwitterAvalanche on Google+Follow Us on TumblrAvalanche on Foursquare
  • RSS

Pepsi Center Hosts Avs' Quebec Qualifier Tourney

Thursday, 11.1.2007 / 4:30 PM MT / News
Colorado Avalanche
Share with your Friends

Pepsi Center Hosts Avs\' Quebec Qualifier Tourney
The Colorado Avalanche are again searching for their Pee Wee representatives as the team hosts the final weekend of the highly competitive Quebec Qualifier tournament at Pepsi Center.  Semifinal and championship games of the 2007 Colorado Avalanche Quebec Qualifier Tournament will be held at Pepsi Center on November 2 and 3, 2007.
The Annual Colorado Avalanche Quebec Qualifier Tournament designates the winning team as the Colorado Avalanche Pee Wee team for the 2007-08 Season.  With this designation comes the opportunity to represent the Avalanche in the Quebec International Pee Wee Tournament in February 2008.

The Quebec International Pee Wee Hockey Tournament is known worldwide as one of the largest and most prestigious Pee Wee tournaments, as it hosts 110 teams from over 14 countries.

The Quebec Qualifier Tournament began play in Arvada at APEX last weekend, October 26 – 28, to determine semifinalist teams.  This year’s tournament has been especially competitive, with all of the quarterfinal games being decided by one goal each and three of the four going to overtime. All 10 Pee Wee AA teams in Colorado eligible to play participated throughout the weekend to determine the current semifinal placements.  Semifinalist match-ups are as follows:

Friday, November 2nd, 2007 5:00 PM – Pepsi Center
(#1) Littleton Hawks
The Littleton Hawks earned the number one seed in the tournament, with their semifinal appearance coming from a 4-3 overtime win in quarterfinal play vs. the #8 Front Range Panthers.  Littleton most recently added Domenic Turgeon, son of former Avalanche player Pierre Turgeon who is also an assistant coach for the team.  The Littleton Pee Wee AA squad has held the title of the Avalanche Pee Wee team twice before – 2001-02 and 2005-06.

(#5) Colorado Springs Jr. Tigers
The Colorado Springs Jr. Tigers earned the fifth seed in tournament play and their semifinal appearance resulted from a 4-3 overtime win in the quarterfinal round vs. the #4 Boulder Valley Bison.  The Colorado Springs Jr. Tigers have held the title of the Avalanche Pee Wee team once before – 2003-04.

Friday, November 2nd, 2007 6:15 PM – Pepsi Center
(#3) Denver Pioneers
The Denver University Pioneers Pee Wee team earned the third seed in tournament play and made it to the semifinal round by skating to a 2-1 victory vs. the Arvada Storm.  Denver University Youth Hockey has never held the title of Colorado Avalanche Pee Wee team.

(#7) Foothills Flyers
The Foothills Flyers skated to an overtime loss and a shootout loss in tournament play but were able to secure the seventh seed heading into quarterfinal play.  The Flyers were able to secure a semifinal berth by defeating  the #2 Colorado Hockey Club by a 5-4 score in an overtime game.  The Foothills Flyers have never held the title of Colorado Avalanche Pee Wee team.

The two winning teams from each game will play again in the championship game,  which will take place on Saturday, November 3, 2007 at 4:00 PM.

2015-16 Ram Trucks Ice Girls
Avs Alert
. is the official Web site of the Colorado Avalanche. Colorado Avalanche and are trademarks of Colorado Avalanche, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Colorado Avalanche Hockey Team, Inc. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. NHL Stadium Series name and logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League.