Colorado Avalanche Logo and Header
16-17 Season TicketsSign up for Avs AlertAvalanche on FacebookAvalanche on TwitterAvalanche on Google+Follow Us on TumblrAvalanche on Foursquare
  • RSS

Wolski Named OHL Player Of The Year

Wednesday, 05.3.2006 / 10:00 PM MT / News
Colorado Avalanche
Share with your Friends

Wolski Named OHL Player Of The Year
London, ON - The Ontario Hockey League announced Thursday that Wojtek Wolski of the Brampton Battalion is the 2005-06 recipient of the Red Tilson Trophy as the OHL's Most Outstanding Player, as selected by the media.

Wolski, a first round NHL draft pick of the Colorado Avalanche, led the Battalion with 47 goals and 81 assists and 128 points, in 56 games, all of which are team single season records. He had an 18 game point streak from February 10 through March 19 where he amassed 22 goals, 34 assists and 56 points. Wolski also had 37 multiple point games during the 2005-06 season.

Wolski was named the OHL Player of the Month for four straight months this season winning the award from December through March. He was recently awarded the William Hanley Trophy as the OHL's Most Sportsmanlike Player for the 2005-2006 season. Wolski also earned MVP honours for the Eastern Conference All-Stars at this year's OHL All-Star Classic, in Belleville.

The 20 year-old native of Zabrze, Poland and Mississauga resident has accumulated 130 goals, 198 assists and 328 points during his four year career with Brampton. These numbers have rewritten the Battalion record book as Wolski now owns the team career record for goals, assists, and points.

The Red Tilson Trophy, the most prestigious individual award presented by the Ontario Hockey League, is awarded each year to the player that is voted the most outstanding during the regular season by OHL writers and broadcasters. Players received five points for a first place selection, three points for second place and one point for a third place selection.

Wolski received 111 points in the voting, while runner-up Rob Schremp of the London Knights received 100 points. Wolski is now the Ontario Hockey League nominee for the CHL Player of the Year at the Canadian Hockey League awards.

Former winners of the Red Tilson Trophy include last year's winner Corey Perry of the London Knights, Frank Mahovlich (Toronto 1957), Stan Mikita (St. Catharines 1959), Doug Gilmour (Cornwall 1983), Eric Lindros (Oshawa 1991), Jason Allison (1994) and Brad Boyes (2001 & 2002).

The trophy is named in honour of Albert "Red" Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II. Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.

2015-16 Ram Trucks Ice Girls
Avs Alert
. is the official Web site of the Colorado Avalanche. Colorado Avalanche and are trademarks of Colorado Avalanche, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Colorado Avalanche Hockey Team, Inc. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. NHL Stadium Series name and logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League.